Guest Post: on writing poetry

May 17, 2016 § 2 Comments

We spend a good deal of our lives waiting, like Adiba patiently did, after I agreed to write a guest post, then had so many other things commandeer my time.

Poetry doesn’t often make me wait, mostly I’m rushing to catch up:  writing the last line I can remember, then working backwards line by line, pulling them back from the land of lost poetry , words that got away . . . all while I was looking for pen and paper.

Found phrases poetry works differently.  I choose background paper and start flipping through magazines; the next words jump out, make themselves obvious, and I clip them.  Maybe they’re next or maybe they’ll be a few lines later, but they’re “in.”  Only seldom do I decide, “No, you’re not the right words after all, I’ll save you for another poem.”

I’ve known April as poetry month for a long time and was introduced to the concept of The National Poetry Writing Month Challenge #NaPoWriMo in 2015 when a friend challenged me to write 30 poems in 30 days.  I wrote found phrase poems and haiku.  This year I challenged myself, then caught walking pneumonia.  I wrote some really bad poetry and a few I’m actually proud of.  Next year I’ll be back to do it again.  Meanwhile the pressure to produce is off and I’m back to writing poetry when inspiration compels me, not just the dawn of a new day.

IMG_2120.JPG

This post, and subsequent poem, was very kindly contributed by Amy.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Guest Post: on writing poetry

  • Maz says:

    Very Interesting…
    I find some things are just so hard to put into the ordinary that they have to be said through a poem. Others , I just write for the sound they make and still more for the point I’m trying to make. I don’t very often feel inspired to write and mostly have to search for a subject or reason for writing. I just know that I have to write. Pity I didn’t get the imagination to go with the desire.. Just saying…

    gramswisewords.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • secretly-broken says:

      Some people have the imagination but no drive, and end up wasting imagination! Sometimes, it’s just the way things are. Important thing, I suppose, is to just keep writing.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Guest Post: on writing poetry at Scarring Words.

meta

