Reading to write…

May 6, 2016 § 4 Comments

For the past while,  I’ve felt very blocked in my creative pursuits. Other than NaPoWriMo, which I think we can all agree was not the best writing I’ve done, trying to write has seemed a little like a chore. I know that I should write, I know that I need to write, but I’ve found it extremely difficult to get excited about the prospect of what I’m writing.books-690219_1280

Sure, there have been days when I’ve begun writing and looked up only hours later, having written up pages and pages of a story; completely lost in my own world. But these days have been few and far in-between. And worse, after coming out of my reverie, my writing has seemed dissatisfactory, at best, and just plain awful, at worst. All in all, not the outcome I was wishing for.

I thought, perhaps the reason for my “writer’s block” (so to speak) has been caused by my draining, new teaching job that I’m only slowly getting used to. And maybe that is part of the reason why. Then again, when I’ve had time off from my job, I have felt equally as blocked from my writing. At times, during my holidays, I’ve felt even worse about my lack of writing because I think, “I’m not working, so what exactly is stopping me?” person-1281536_640

All of this, has resulted in a lot of frustration and… actually, some productivity. For the past while, I’ve been reading almost… excessively. I mean, maybe kid me, who used to read a book a day like it was nothing wouldn’t think I was reading excessively, but adult me who finds it difficult enough to squeeze an average-length book into a week while studying, working etc., definitely finds it a tad excessive. But as always, I’ve found that inspiration, and motivation, can be found in the oddest of places. My latest read, Jeffrey Eugenides’ “The Virgin Suicides” has led to a strange spark in my mind.
Today, after finishing the novel, I sat down and wrote 2,000 words in one hour-long sitting. 2,000 words… most of which I actually kind of liked! That hasn’t happened in quite a while. I also began a little plan for where this new writing project could potentially be going. And when dinner time rolled around, I actually felt disappointed about closing up my laptop and leaving the new world of my latest writing project behind.

I guess this, too, is quite new. And maybe the excitement will dry up soon, though I do hope not. For now, I’ll go back to my writing with a new-found vigour!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Reading to write…

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading to write… at Scarring Words.

meta

