Musings on Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

July 28, 2015 § Leave a comment

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer? [x]

I made the grave mistake of watching the movie before reading this book. I still hold on to the belief that if I had read the book first, I would have enjoyed the book far more. But that regret aside, this book was still rather fantastic and I could barely put it down, even though I already knew the conclusion.

Let’s start with what I enjoyed the most – Flynn’s writing. Her writing style just seemed to click with me. It’s my first novel by Flynn so I’m hoping her others are consistent to this in terms of prose. Her writing is sharp and witty – perfectly fitting for the genre. And she manages to switch between the separate voices within the book excellently. The change is never drastic, but not so subtle that you don’t notice the difference.

I’ve noticed a lot of people claiming their dislike for the characters, suggesting that when you don’t have any characters that you can like, or relate to, it’s difficult to really enjoy the book. I’ll have to disagree with that. Yes, there are really no characters in this book that you can relate to (or at least I’d hope so) and none of them are what you’d call moral, but I don’t think that detracts from the novel. Despite their general unlikeability, Flynn makes the characters complex enough to keep you interested. My only real gripe with this book would have to be the ending, which seemed unsatisfactory at best. Though perhaps the immorality of the characters made the ending more bearable. In any case, the ending certainly didn’t make the rest of the novel any less enjoyable, and this is a book that I would definitely recommend!

… On a side note, I also enjoyed the movie, though I found the book to be far better (isn’t that always the case). The movie was interesting (though I don’t know if some of the actors were the best) but I think Flynn’s writing definitely gives the story a certain flair that is lacking in the movie. Still, watching the movie after having read the book is something I would recommend!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musings on Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn at Scarring Words.

meta

