A sudden bout of inspiration…

July 19, 2015 § Leave a comment

Do you ever sit listlessly in your room, trying to decide what to watch on Netflix, or scan through the myriad of unread books on your bookshelf trying to decide what book to read next, and suddenly you’re inspired, suddenly you feel the deep, desperate need to write?The One cover

A few nights ago, I was lying in bed tossing and turning so I picked up my kindle thinking maybe I’ll make a start on one of the books I’ve downloaded onto it. What I stumbled upon was my unfinished NaNoWriMo 2012 novel and I finished reading it quite quickly, excited by the prospects that existed in it that I had clearly overlooked. So inspiration struck, I opened up my word document, abandoned my reading quests, or any Netflix binge watches, and in two days, I typed out the last 10,000 words that got my novel to its much-needed conclusion.

And with the conclusion, came the idea for a sequel, which I began immediately after I finished typing out the last sentence of the first novel (which was “they killed him” for anybody who is wondering). Since it’s July, I decided to sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo to see if it helps me along with my writing goals (it usually does). But it’s been a day since I started writing my sequel and I’m about 3,000 words into it, which I’m quite happy with.

I think the most wonderful thing about sudden inspiration is that it truly gets you excited about writing. Since most of this year, I’ve been engaged in academic writing (and even as I work on my novel, I’m simultaneously working on my masters dissertation), the act of writing itself had become somewhat of a chore. I love it all the same, but I don’t seem to get excited about it as I usually do. So to come back to this novel that I had left unfinished, and be able to not only finish it, but see a future for it, makes me really quite happy, and very excited!

Have any of you been suddenly struck by inspiration like this? For a novel? Short story? Poetry? Or something else? Let me know!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading A sudden bout of inspiration… at Scarring Words.

meta

