What to do with that novel….

December 5, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hey everyone! We’re well into the post-NaNo week. I hope you have all celebrated abundantly – whether your reached 50k, 5k or 100k (It really doesn’t matter, you wrote something)!

The problem I have post-NaNo is often motivating myself to work on my novel after November. Obviously, NaNo really helps to get you into the habit of writing daily, and writing often and the best thing would be to just continue that habit. Even if you’re not writing as much as 1,667 words a day, it’s good to even write something like 800 words a day. Producing work daily is just a good habit for your writing, and it really helps you improve. Unfortunately for me, my December is always super hectic. Take this year, for example. I have dissertation proposal for my MA due in less than two weeks, and a presentation on my dissertation topic in even less time than that. I also have two essays to plan out and discuss with my professors and a lot of reading to catch up on. So naturally it is difficult for me to work on my novel on a regular basis when I have so much work to undertake.

This means that I often end up with novels that are unfinished, that I just haven’t gotten back to yet. I end up with novels that I just haven’t edited. And I end up kind of unhappy because I know a lot of my work has potential, if only I could motivate myself for work on it. So is there anything you guys do to motivate yourself to work on your NaNo novel and finish it/polish it up?

In the past, I have created music playlists that are particular to a novel and going back to listen to them have given me the inspiration to come back to them.

I’ve also used the website 750 words to get myself into a daily routine of writing.

But that’s about the extent of it. Do you guys face any similar predicaments with your writing? And if so, what do you do to motivate yourself?

Tagged: , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading What to do with that novel…. at Scarring Words.

meta

