NaNoWriMo Week Two!

November 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hey fellow writers and readers! How’s week two of NaNoWriMo going for you guys? I’m struggling to stay on point, to be perfectly honest but still manage to meet the word count everyday so far. Week 3 is going to be a tough one!

I’ve been doing something different for my novel this year, where I’m not writing chronologically. I’m finding it difficult in some ways, and a lot easier in others. Like I feel like I’m never stuck for long because I can always go somewhere else and write a totally new scene or introduce something brand new. But then sometimes I just completely lose the plot! Do you guys write chronologically or are you guys writing all mixed-up like me this time?

Here’s a short excerpt from my week’s writings:

I learned more about his life that day than he ever did about mine. He informed me of his wife, a fellow educator like him – a schoolteacher – named Julia, and his two kids. “They’re not too much younger than you,” He said to me, though I suppose he misjudged my age, took me to be much younger than I actually was at the time. His children, named Sarah and Noah, were nineteen and fifteen respectively. He spoke freely about his line of work, he was a professor of economics at one of the biggest universities in our nation. He claimed to love the work he did, though his students often frustrated him. “It’s difficult when not everybody has the love of education as you do,” He told me with a smile. “You know what I’m talking about.” Perhaps I would have agreed with him when I was younger, when I was still being educated by him. But I had grown out of my childhood curiosities. I had realised that there were more important things in the world than the simple thirst for knowledge. Knowledge, I learned, was not all I had thought it to be. It is what you do with your knowledge that makes a difference. With Mr. – Dr. – Ashton’s knowledge, he educated students about national economics. He said that he played a role in the fast advancing economy of our nation, he was consulted often about the technological advances and played a significant role in such things.

My knowledge leads me to my own downfall. My knowledge leads me to the very depths of my worst nightmares. It leaves me incompetent and afraid. “There are so many things you can do to help,” Mira had told me one day, “You’re a brave soul, you can help.” But I never helped. I failed Mira as I had failed my own mother and dad. I failed Kerry, I failed Mr. Ashton. I failed so many people in my life, yet my mind is full of knowledge that helps nobody.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo Week Two! at Scarring Words.

meta

