NaNoWriMo Week One Update Post

November 8, 2014 § Leave a comment

Hey NaNoers and non-NaNoers alike! Just wanted to give a quick update of how this NaNoWriMo is going. I’ve had a pretty successful first week and I’m actually a day ahead on wordcount right now. Hopefully this success will continue on for the next 3 weeks too. I hope everybody else’s NaNoWriMo is going well, too? Let me know!

Here’s a short excerpt from what I wrote today:

It was three weeks of restless sleep and loneliness before I saw her again. Like last time, she was swimming in the ocean and I watched, approaching slowly, carefully; afraid that I would scare her off like I did the last time. She looked so carefree in the sea, like she was so at one with the world, like she had no worries weighing her down. But when she finally turned around and saw me, there was a sadness in her eyes. I waved from where I stood at the shore and for a moment I could see the hesitance as she stood still in the ocean. Finally, she began to slowly swim towards me, her strokes slow and still hesitant but she finally came to a rest at a safe distance from me. She asked, “what are you doing here again?” and I became even more scared that she would disappear again before I had the chance to speak to her, to find out about her.

“I’ve been looking for you,” I said to her slowly. “I’ve been wondering about you.” She frowned at that. “You shouldn’t wonder about me, or look for me. You should forget about me.”

“Are you a ghost?” I asked her and she smiled her sad smile. “You’re a very curious person,” she told me. “Around here, curiosity is not going to be good for you. Especially not when you’re in the ocean.”

“I wasn’t planning to go into the ocean very often,” I said. “I just come here because I wanted to ask you… about who you are, about what you are.” She sighed, “I don’t know if I can answer that.” Then it was my turn to sigh.

“It’s not a very difficult question to answer,” I told her. “I’ll go first, look. Hi, my name is Alex and I’m a human. Your turn.” She smiled again, the same sad smile, “Hi, my name is Mira and I’m a secret.”

“Who’s secret?” I asked then.

“The world’s secret.” She replied.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo Week One Update Post at Scarring Words.

meta

