Reading Challenge – Part Two

December 16, 2013 § Leave a comment

26. Hero by Perry Moore

Read review here. My response to this book is no. Just no. I’d give it negative stars if I could.

27. Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters

I can’t remember much about this book except for the fact that I was excited to read it and hugely disappointed by the end of the book.

28. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

It was such a struggle to get through this book. I hated absolutely everything except for the prose.

29. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Very similar to Speak but equally engaging and enjoyable to read.

30. The Ticket-of-Leave Man by Tom Taylor

Read this for my Victorian Literature class. A melodrama – pretty funny but nothing too great.

31-33. Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Search

P. 1, P. 2, P. 3

Again, love the art, hate the story. Especially Part 3… just… what?

34. Eva Luna by Isabelle Allende 

Isabelle Allende is one of the best writers I have come across in 2013. She could probably write a grocery list beautifully and I would read it. It helps that the book was engaging in other aspects too but seriously, the prose is fantastic.

35. Pet Sematary by Stephen King

Often praised as one of King’s best works but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t know if it was because I was still hung over from IT, but it just didn’t measure up to many other King novels, or even come close.

36. Peony in Love by Lisa See

Read my review here. Another book to which all I have to say is… no.

37. Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden

Read my review here. A really sweet book that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

38. Out of my Mind by Sharon M. Draper

Really interesting concept but in the hands of an amateur writer. Very poor plot, characterisation and writing.

39. The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell 

This was just a really sad story. A well written sad story, but still very, very, very sad.

40-41. The Hybrid Chronicles

What’s Left of Me, Once We Were

Read my reviews here and here. Two wonderful books that I would highly recommend reading. Very much looking forward to the third book of the series.

42. The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

Read my review here. This was a beautifully written, wonderful book about a girl’s struggles with being biracial.

43. Vlad by Carlos Fuentes

Read this for my Monsters of the Market class. It was… strange and disturbing but you couldn’t stop reading it. Many prominent parallels with Dracula.

44. The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter

Had to read this for my Reading Gender and Sexuality Class. I also wrote an essay on the scopic economies in the Blood Chamber and Angela Carter’s subversion of the fairy tale genre. I really loved this – it was engaging and beautifully written with really intriguing insight into ordinary fairy-tales.

45. Report from Planet Midnight by Nalo Hopkinson

Truly wonderful to see Hopkinson address the problems of representation and inclusion of people of colour in sci-fi and fantasy. Her short stories in the book were also engaging, and, as always, beautifully written.

46. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

I love Allie Brosh’s blog so it is unsurprising that I found her graphic novel to be just as funny and wonderful.

47. Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

Not what I was expecting when I originally heard of it but it was an interesting read with great artwork.

48. We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo

Nominated for the Man Booker Prize. It was interesting and really well written but kind of grasping at straws sometimes. It was pretty ambivalent in what it was attempting to portray but that could also be taken as a positive thing, I suppose.

49. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson 

Bridge to Terabithia is another movie that I adore and it was wonderful to find that I loved the book too. Wonderfully written, simplistic and engaging.

And finally…

50. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

I love the ambivalence of the structure of this book – is it a memoir? a collection of short stories? a novel? It’s a mixture of all of those, perhaps. Wonderfully written, beautifully structured and incredibly enjoyable to read.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading Challenge – Part Two at Scarring Words.

meta

