Musings on Annie on My Mind

August 8, 2013 § 1 Comment

“The thing about mountains is that you have to keep on climbing them, and that it’s always hard, but there’s a view from top every time when you finally get there.”

Annie on My Mind is the story of two young teenage girls who have a chance meeting in a museum before developing a friendship that quickly turns into something more.

I have to say, I quite liked reading this book. The prose, especially, felt genuine with a touch of the poetic mixed in. The narrative style was also rather wonderful. I liked the switch from third to first person narrative. I loved the random transitions to writing letters to Annie that will probably never be sent.

As a YA coming of age novel, it was thoroughly enjoyable. I liked both the characters of Annie and Liza. I feel that a lot of novels that deal with homosexuality have a problem where they define their characters through their sexuality but this wasn’t the case for Annie on My Mind. Although, a criticism I would have is that minor characters were rather two-dimensional, which made the climax of the novel a little less enjoyable than it could have been.

Have any of you read Annie on My Mind? If so, what were your thoughts?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Musings on Annie on My Mind

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musings on Annie on My Mind at Scarring Words.

meta

