A Green Novel

June 9, 2013 § 4 Comments

I think I’ve probably written about this before, but my first NaNoWriMo, my first “novel” that I managed to pen out, was entitled “Yesterday at Brewery Road.” I wrote it at the age of thirteen with fresh eyes and a rather naive outlook on the world.

35800_409000596500_4866052_nIt’s probably one of my favourite things I’ve ever written. Don’t get me wrong, it’s rather awful. The characterization is sloppy and inconsistent. The writing is amateur at best. The plot is lacking. The dialogue is often wooden and unrealistic.

So I guess a good question to ask here is why the heck do you like that piece of crap? I guess because, first of all, it allows me to note my growth as a writer – as someone who better understands how to characterize, how to plot, how to write realistically.

But more importantly, in-between all the amateur writing, clichéd characters and predictable plot, it contains a very youthful outlook on situations that I don’t think is present in what I’ve written since. When I wrote the novel, I was excited, scared, nervous. I didn’t know what I was doing or how I was going to do it. I just wanted to do it! And I did, I guess and this was the product. I like the energy of it – the freshness the naivety. It’s nice. It’s something that I don’t want to rid it of. It’s a Young Adult novel that I wrote when I was barely a young adult myself.

It’s a piece of writing that’s very close to my heart and I hadn’t actually touched it for years and years. Recently, I went back to it. I rewrote the first chapter a few months back and realised that there was so much potential and re-realised my love for the book. This is something that I really want to finish rewriting during the summer, but I’ve been putting it off. Why? Because I’m slightly afraid of losing the freshness of the first draft because I’m 19, going on 20, now. I’m much older, more mature.

The re-written first chapter has a certain element of maturity there now too. So far, I’m pretty happy with it because it still reserves some of that original naivety without overdoing it. I hope I can continue that, keep true to the original in certain aspects but make it better in many other.

Anyway, maybe this is what I’ll blog about this summer. My re-write. Which is rather different from an edit.

I still have to go back and finish editing Saoirse, but I think maybe I also need a break, something to clear my mind of that. I guess this’ll be that.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to A Green Novel

  • anotherwhinybitch says:

    Aww that’s nice 🙂

    Like

  • Jen Connelly says:

    Good luck with your rewrite.

    I wrote my first novel back in February of this year (took me about 5 weeks). But when I went to edit I realized I was going to need to rewrite a massive amount of it because there was no real plot. I spent months plotting and outlining. Rewriting is hard, lol. I finally had to take a break from it last month and work on other things but I plan to go back to rewriting.

    It has been a fun and enlightening experience, even if it has been frustrating and hard.

    I’d say start with going through and highlighting anything you think you want to keep or bits of writing you really like that you think you could reuse. It helped me see where I needed the most work and how much could be salvaged.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Green Novel at Scarring Words.

meta

