I don’t know how to title!

June 4, 2013 § 3 Comments

There’s this ongoing joke on my facebook page where I frequently upload screenshots of the titles of my word documents.

I cannot title, this is by now a common known fact amongst my facebook friends. It takes me hours, sometimes days and weeks, of wracking my brains to come up with a decent title for one of my works. Often I leave them as they are, a silly Word Document title, until I’ve decided to submit the piece to a literary magazine or something of that sort.

a title

It’s pretty annoying, especially considering how important titles actually are. Often, it is a title that will make readers latch on to your work.

Some of my favourite book titles, that made me immensely interested in reading the actual books, would be Their Eyes Were Watching God, Speak, The Knife of Never Letting Go.  Are you guys any better with titles than I am? And what are your favourite/least favourite titles? Let me know!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I don’t know how to title!

  • johncoyote says:

    Create a title is easy. A strong term in the poem. Your reason and purpose for the poem. Sometime words that are adverbs I use to create attention. Writing is a on going learning experience. I do request help on every poem. People had help me with my weaknesses. Writers need to work together. Never enough word-men .and woman in our world.

    Like

    • secretly-broken says:

      I don’t know, I think it’s difficult to find that one title that really resonates with you and you’re sure that it’ll also resonate with readers! I suppose, creating a title isn’t that difficult. But creating a title that you’re satisfied with is an entirely different problem.

      Like

      • johncoyote says:

        I agree. I rarely change titles. Usual a thought hit my head and write. Title can catch the eye of the reader. Your contents in the story bring them back to you.

        Like

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading I don’t know how to title! at Scarring Words.

meta

