The Distant Lover

April 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Dawn to dusk, he lurks,

Watches rowboats with dead eyes,

Lovers swaying back and forth,

Waters rippling green,

Dark silhouettes glimmering,

Underneath glow of moonlight

 

Gazing at her form

As she departs, with trail of

Heartbreak in her sullen wake,

He heaves a deep sigh,

Distant lover from city,

Whisper to the river now.

 

NaPoWriMo Day 3 and the form of poetry above is called a Choka! This is also Part II of A Whisper to the Khulna River, hence the familiarity of the story.

This one was pretty difficult to write. I was up at 1.30 am counting syllables and I have to advise everyone to not be up at 1.30 am counting syllables because it just doesn’t turn out well. The variation of the Choka that I used has the syllabic structure of 5-7-7-5-7-7, but somehow this morning, I had ended up with lines that had 9 syllables, although I was confident last night before I finally drifted off the sleep that I had all my syllables right.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Distant Lover at Scarring Words.

meta

