Write Underneath Rain

April 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

Teach me poetry

Teach me how to write

Write me a song

Write me into your stories

Stories of adventure

Stories of love

Love like there’s nobody else

Love in your last breath

Breaths of winters

Breaths of summer

Summer rain drizzles down

Summer just around the corner

Corner me in a room

Corner me in your heart

Heartbreak follows romance

Hearts ache in shattered pieces

Pieces of your mind traverse

Pieces of your life in my mind

Mind the broken heart

Mind the gaps

Gaps in your aching body

Gaps where my heart used to be

Be naught but yourself

Be someone else entirely

Entirely different I am to you

Entirely different people

People all together walk by

People separated by oceans and skies

Skies of blue in autumn weather

Skies of tinted red at dawn

Dawn glimmers upon the night

Dawn of pinks and oranges upon the earth

Earth is bare like your body

Earth stretches for miles

Miles stretched out across your body

Miles I count on your skin

Skin patched on your knees

Skin breaking with blood

Blood pumping your heart

Blood smeared across your face

Face the truth with brave eyes

Face your own lies

Lies like bullets escape your lips

Lies that feel truthful in your eyes

Eyes that are full of deceit

Eyes the colour of freshly-fallen rain

Rain down on the heart of this world

Rain on our hearts til we’re dead

Dead

World

 

For the second day of NaPoWriMo, I decided to try my hands at a Blitz! If you want to learn more about writing this form of poetry, click here.

I may or may not have gone a bit mad and decided to try a new form of poetry every day through the month of April. It’s been fun so far, I like learning about different forms and structures, especially since I usually only write free-verse. It’s a good way to get out of my comfort zone so hopefully I’ll be able to stick this. I can’t promise any good poetry throughout the month, but I can say that we’ll all hopefully be a little more learned about different forms of poetry.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write Underneath Rain at Scarring Words.

meta

