To blog or not to blog?

October 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

So with NaNoWriMo just around the corner, I’ve just been trying to make my mind up about a lot of things.

The first of these is, of course, what I’m actually going to be noveling about during the month-long novel-writing journey. Funnily enough, the thought of not doing NaNoWriMo never did cross my mind, although work from university rarely leaves me any time at all. I decided that I would simply make the time to write a novel and that was that. My fingers have been itching too long for something new and fresh to get started on. Whilst I love Saoirse, I simply do not love editing. It is painful and long and causes you to often question yourself and your writing skills. It tends to be unfun most of the time. The only time it is fun is when you stumble upon little gems to writing to realise that perhaps you are not the horrendous author you once thought yourself to be. Then, of course, that little realisation is often destroyed by the fact that you need to delete your little gem because it simply does not fit into the novel anymore! So I decided yes so novel-writing, despite the question never really cropping up in my brain.

What I want to novel about is actually something that’s been on my mind for a long time now, for about a year, I’d say. It all came about from a few dreams and I’m still trying to develop the whole storyline together, write out some sort of a plot before the start of November (That’s one day away, eep!) so that I’m not grasping around in the dark during those 30 days. It’s been somewhat successful but I still have ways to go. Coming up with a title has been the most difficult thing to do so far but I have a working title now and I’m ploughing through.

The next thing, of course, is how exactly I’m going to balance workload, social life and noveling. Let’s start by saying that I don’t have much of a social life anyway (but social lives tend to suddenly crop up during November!) so I’m kind of throwing that one out the window. Workload and noveling is an entirely different thing. I do have 4 essays due in early November, two of which I have only barely started and two of which that I don’t even want to think about. I told myself I’ll get through it all somehow so… here’s hoping! Fingers crossed!

Thirdly, crops up the question of blogging. I do enjoy blogging about NaNoWriMo journey, it often gets me through the month, simply to write down a reflection of my writing escapades. However, this year with the excessive workload, the (lack of a) social life and novel-writing, I’m not sure how well I’ll be able to balance blogging about the novel too. But I am going to try my best to keep up the blog during November, even if it’s done very infrequently (like in the past few months, oops!).

Are any of you guys participating in NaNoWriMo? Are you all set or completely winging the novel? Let me know in the comments!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading To blog or not to blog? at Scarring Words.

meta

