So you think you’re a novelist?

June 30, 2012 § 2 Comments

So you’ve finally finished penning down that novel that has been nibbling away at your mind for months and months. There it is in a word document in all its glory. Maybe it’s 50,000 words, maybe it’s more, maybe it’s less. Who knows, who cares? The important thing is that you’ve written a novel!

You’re itching to type up a query letter and send it off to a couple of agents. You’re itching to add all those rejection letters to your collection and maybe, just maybe, receive that one acceptance that will open the gateway between you and that literary world you’ve been waiting your whole life to enter into. Exciting, right?

Except there’s one more step between you and the literary world. Perhaps this is the most important step of all. It’s called the editing and the rewriting!

Well, that’s certainly not as exciting as receiving rejection letters but it does make the possibility of an acceptance letter a lot higher.

I’ve written three novels in my quite short life, which isn’t a bad place to be at for eighteen, I guess. But I’ve edited a total of zero novels. My dad, who really has no idea about the literary world despite being quite an avid reader, always asks me when I’ll be ready to start sending stuff to publishers. I assure him soon, as soon as I’m finished editing. Of course, I don’t tell him that it won’t be publishers I’ll be sending stuff to, but agents. But I don’t want to get him too caught up in unnecessary business that doesn’t really concern him at this point.

I found the novelling process extremely difficult when I first began. My first “attempt” at novel-writing was a total train-wreck. Now, I guess I’m beginning my first proper venture into the editing process of novel-writing. I don’t have much of an idea of what I’m doing because I’ve never really done it before. I have no experience in this. But I know that to achieve my ultimate goal of some day being a published author, the editing is something that must be begun. After all, editing is a large part of the novelling process.

I will be blogging about my editing experience, telling you guys how it’s going and letting you in any tips or tricks that I find useful. Hopefully my first editing venture will not be as much of a disaster as my first novel-writing venture! If any of  you have any tips/tricks/advice on editing, leave me a comment. Otherwise, just wish me luck!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to So you think you’re a novelist?

  • Eve says:

    This post appeared in my inbox about 20mins after I hit the 50k mark on Camp NaNo 😀

    The novel is printing at the moment – but, like you, editing is another phase entirely. So, the novel goes in a drawer for six weeks at the very least. Leave it cool off, then come back to it with fresh eyes in August (in the middle of the other Camp NaNo, lol!)

    Looking forward to any editing tricks or tips!

    Like

    • secretly-broken says:

      Haha. It’s like a sign! 😀 Congrats on hitting the 50k mark btw, and right on time too! 🙂 Is the novel all finished at 50k?

      Yes, giving it time to cool off is probably a good idea. The mistake I always make during “cool off” time is that I leave it for too long, keep telling myself that I’ll go back to it but then it’s November or June or August and I just want to write another novel, not go back to the old one.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading So you think you’re a novelist? at Scarring Words.

meta

