Nature’s first green is gold

June 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

I count myself lucky in many ways (and unlucky in many other ways), but one of the things that I’ve always been quite happy about is living here in Dublin, Ireland but not being born and bred here. I hear a lot of my Irish friends complain, about the rain, the people, the  politics, this and that and everything in between. They talk about wanting to leave, go somewhere that’s not here. And I understand, I really do. If I was born and brought up here, I’d probably think the same as them. But I wasn’t.

The Cliffs of Moher

Ireland is nice.

When you go into the countryside, the greenery is beautiful. I went to Clare about 2 years ago and saw the Cliffs of Moher. They were stunning. Everything in Clare was, really. We saw the Burren and visited the Ailwee caves. We even took a boat ride to Inis Oirr, which was a Gaeltacht so everyone spoke Irish. It was a small island and we rented a horse carriage and rode around the whole place. It was all very beautiful.

Inis Oirr

We visited the North once, travelling through Donegal (which, again, is pretty beautiful). We saw the Giant’s Causeway and visited Carrick-a-Rede, both beautiful places. We took so many pictures but with sights like these, photos don’t capture the beauty. You have be there, you have to see it with your own eyes.

The Giant’s Causeway

Carrick-a-Rede

When we first moved here, we used to live in Tullamore, Co. Offally. It was small town that you could probably walk in about a half hour. We go back to Tullamore once in a while because my parents still have friends there. But only once did we actually travel around Offally, visiting places other than our little town of Tullamore. We went to Birr, we saw stunning greenery.

Birr Castle and Gardens

I live in Dublin, but on the very outskirts of it so it’s pretty quiet around here. You step outside my area and you aren’t in county Dublin anymore, you’re in Wicklow! And in Wicklow, you have some pretty wonderful sights, like Glendalough, a glaciated valley. We visit there often enough, there’s a lot of walking to do there. There’s a lot of greenery; lots of trees and some waterfalls. And of course, the valley itself is stunning!

Glendalough

Don’t get me wrong, I love my home country of Bangladesh and it has some stunning places to see as well (I just haven’t had the opportunity to visit these places yet!) but that doesn’t nullify the natural beauty of Ireland. I’m always, always grateful that I’ve had the opportunity to travel around Ireland, to see all these beautiful places for what they are. But, of course, there’s more. Ireland is full of natural beauty that I’m just dying to see and hopefully in the coming years, I’ll get to travel around the country more and see more wonderful scenery!

P.S: Props to anyone who can name the poem and poet the title is from!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Nature’s first green is gold

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nature’s first green is gold at Scarring Words.

meta

