Winner!

September 3, 2011 § 4 Comments

Yes, you heard right! I’m a CampNaNoWriMo winner! I have reached 50,000 words on my novel and throughout the writing process I even managed to come up with a title. So, my 2011 CampNaNoWriMo novel is called ‘Saoirse’. For those of you who don’t live in Ireland or don’t understand Irish, Saoirse is an Irish word that means freedom. It’s also the name of the main character of my novel. Hence, the title does have a bit of a double meaning.

I may have hit 50,000 words but I am nowhere close to even finishing my novel. I’m taking a little break from it because after a month of writing, I’ve become a bit sick of the thing, to be quite honest. I want to go back after a few days and look at it with fresh eyes and a clear mind.

Also, I’ve recently (and by recently, I mean just today!) started using this website that I found on the NaNoWriMo forum. It’s called 750 words and it’s a very simple site that keeps track of the amount of words you write per day. You write on the site and it gives you points every time you write 750 words a day. The point of the site is to create a regularity in your writing so that there is a set word count that you are working towards everyday. I think it’s a pretty helpful site for those of us who lack motivation and inspiration to write every single day.

I’ve always had trouble writing on a daily basis. It’s funny because I always tell people that they should try to write on a daily basis if they want to improve their writing skills but I’ve always been absolutely horrendous at following this advice myself. My writing times vary so much. I’ll go weeks without really writing anything and then all of a sudden I’ll spit out 4 or 5 poems or a 6,000 word short story. I don’t know… my writing has always been very all over the place and I do want to regularise it. Which is why I’m using that site.

If you’re at all like me and have trouble writing regularly, you should also check out the site and see if it helps you: http://750words.com/

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Winner!

  • kdoherty89 says:

    Congratulations! I have never done NaNoWriMo but it seems like it would be such a fun event to take part in. I’m glad you finished it, good work! What was your story about?

    Like

    • It is indeed a very fun event to take part in. I mean… there are times where you lose your sanity a little bit but the sense of accomplishment you feel at the of the month makes up for everything else.

      My story is about a fictional country that’s supposed to reflect the worst of the conflicts in our own world. The country is supposed to be an island in Asia that has an extremely corrupt governement and for the past 30 years the people have been revolting. So there’s basically a whole generation in the country that has seen nothing but violence and corruption. Umm… I’m not finished with the novel yet so I haven’t really come up with a proper sypnosis.

      Like

      • kdoherty89 says:

        Haha, I bet a loss of sanity is part of the deal!

        Nice, what you’ve told me sounds interesting and relevant to the time we’re in too (if you think about it). You should finish the novel and try to get it published. 🙂

        Like

      • Haha. Afraid publishing is a very, very difficult goal to achieve at the moment but I definitely plan on finishing it. =) After that I guess we’ll see.

        Like

What are your thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winner! at Scarring Words.

meta

